Sugar Cottage Reviews

 

Perfect stay

We stayed only 3 nights on Garry's cottage but we really enjoyed it. The cottage is as presented on the pictures, well-equiped and comfortable. Garry and Susan were perfect hosts providing all informations for our stay. Thank you for every thing Garry and Susan.

Stayed: July 2016

Submitted: August 20, 2016

Source: VRBO

Veronique B

Great hosts, comfortable cottage

My 19 year old son arrived with a bad knee, but was still able to snorkel at Two-Step beach. With Garry's knowledge of the waters, he gave careful instruction on getting into and out of the water safely so no mishaps occurred. We enjoyed it immensely, seeing a variety of tropical fish, sea turtles, and dolphins. His knowledge of the local waters is extensive. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer to take advantage of it.

Stayed: April 2016

Submitted: April 19, 2016

Source: VRBO

Conrad M.Kent, WA

Excellent stay, amazing hosts!

We stayed only 2 nights on Garry's cottage but we really enjoyed it. The cottage is as presented on the pictures, well-equiped and comfortable. Garry was a perfect host providing all information and tips for our stay. He also provided us with snorkeling material and he brought us to the Two-Step beach where we had the opportnuty to swim with wild dolphins and made amazing snorkeling! Thank you for every thing Garry, and we will not hesitate to come back to your place!

Stayed: March 2016

Submitted: March 24, 2016

Source: VRBO

Brady G.Alaska

Peaceful Setting, Wonderful Hosts!

We loved the peaceful setting and Garry and Susan were great hosts. The birds and roosters, while noisy, were a much better sound than any city I've ever been in!!! My wife finished up her scuba certification while on the Island and was able to join us for some pretty cool diving. Garry took us to Two Steps and Pebble Beach. The surf made it a little tough to get in but we managed it and he made the dive interesting (and safe) for us. Our next trip to the Big Island will be planned around Sugar Cottage vacancy!

Stayed: February 2016

Submitted: March 15, 2016

Source: VRBO

Grant W.Irving, Texas

 

Great Rental With Great Hosts!

I have looked at the listing for Sugar Cottage for several years while planning vacations to different locales. This year we finally made our trek to the Big Island and planned our dates around availability at Sugar Cottage...we could not have made a better decision. The cottage is comfortable and private. Comfortable Queen Sized Bed, Full Kitchen, TV With Dish Network and VCR/DVD player, Washer/Dryer. The cottage is nestled in a rain-forest/jungle away from crowds and noise of tourists a little South of Captain Cook. To top off the great cottage our hosts made the trip exceptional! Each morning, Garry met up with us to go Scuba Diving. We are experienced and advanced divers...he took us to his favorite spots based on current conditions. Garry is a safe dive guide that enjoys diving and enjoys sharing the ocean with his guests. Whether you are a beginning diver or advanced you will enjoy diving with Garry. As our trip came to a close our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. I have already checked out his availability for the summer and our frequent flier mileage balance. Hopefully, we can make it back this summer. Sugar Cottage is our "Go To Spot" on the Big Island. As a frequent vrbo renter I highly recommend Sugar Cottage. One caveat...if you are a high-maintenance vacationer who prefers a resort this may not be the place for you. If you enjoy life away from the tourists and tourist traps...put your deposit down with Garry before your dates are booked by someone else.

Stayed: January 2016

Submitted: February 4, 2016

Source: VRBO

Silvio C.

 

Gorgeous little cottage in the woods

The location is perfect - away from the city crazyness, extremely quiet, except for the birds and roosters. Very close to good snorkeling spots at Honomalino Bay and Two Step. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone in an instant!

Stayed: December 2015

Submitted: December 25, 2015

Source: HomeAway Family

Lynn C.

 

Best deal ever for divers!

After reading lots of reviews, we picked Garry's SuGar cottage because of his generous offer to take us out in the water. One of us dives, and the other snorkels, and we like to avoid crowded areas, so Garry picked locations that would work out for all involved. My boyfriend got a great dive buddy, and I snorkeled around on my own, or nearby above them, sometimes having the place all to ourselves. Garry knows what to look for in the water and we got to see a couple sharks, turtles, and lots of fish! He was also able to point us to other locations for afternoon trips we made on our own too. The cottage itself was also a great set-up for divers - a hose, tub, and rack for rinsing and hanging all the wet stuff. Inside, a full size washer and dryer with laundry sink. And the kitchen has a good size fridge (which we filled up from a trip to Costco for a week's worth of groceries). Simple, clean, and very practical. It's also very private - just us, singing frogs in the evening, and some vocal roosters. Garry and Susan's house is just up the driveway, but with all the lush vegetation, you'd hardly know it. The property is located in a quiet, local neighborhood about 1000 ft above sea level, so fans were adequate for ventilation. There are mosquitoes, so the screens were important on windows. It's not near many amenities though, so eating out often would require lots of driving. It was a good location from which to visit Volcano NP and the southern areas too. Keep in mind for itineraries though that divers need enough time before going to higher elevations, and some roads around the Big Island are high enough you'll need to plan for that if diving. SuGar cottage was the place we stayed the longest on the island, and we were glad we planned it that way. Garry and Susan are wonderful hosts and just real, down-to-earth, friendly, low-key folks. We would definitely plan to stay there again if we can manage a return trip to the Big Island. And to have a competent, master dive buddy included is one unique and exceptional deal! It made our trip worth it!

Stayed: July 2015

Submitted: July 31, 2015

Source: VRBO

A guest from Sanoma, CASanoma, CA

 

A GEM!

I was so lucky to find this place. I was traveling alone and read an earlier review that Garry will take his guests out snorkling/diving. I was worried how I would be able to do water activities as a solo traveler and this was the best arrangement. Garry and Sue are wonderful hosts and I had a blast hanging out with them the first night - They showed me the local fishing village to watch the sunset and what luck, the neighborhood had gathered around to watch the Pacquio fight and we were invited to join them. What fun! Their place is super clean, very cute and private. Garry had all the gear I needed and took me on a personal snorkeling tour 2 days in a row. He was so patient with me and I felt very safe swimming with him. Did I mention Garry is a fish! He would deep dive and point to beautiful fish and the unusual rock formations. He was on a quest to find dolphins for me to see! I had the time of my life. I highly recommend staying at SuGar cottage.

Stayed: May 2015

Submitted: May 15, 2015

Source: VRBO

Excellent for Divers and Snorkelers!

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of a 3-1/2 week xmas vacation. Cottage is clean and comfortable with all the kitchen basics. There is a charcoal BBQ outside which we didn’t get a chance to use. Also have a convenient outside area for rinsing and hanging dive equipment. Appreciated the seclusion and quiet - very good choice if you aren’t into the touristy scene. Hosts Garry and Susan are lovely! Enjoyed 3 dives at Honaunau Bay with Garry who was kind enough to lend me some gear as well as the advertised weights and air. Garry is a cautious and conservative diver so, as an infrequent diver, I felt very safe with him as guide. Saw tons of fish, a few turtles, heard the whales calling and was introduced to the local reef shark. This place is a terrific deal especially for scuba divers - would love to stay again. The hosts made it cosy and welcoming. Chatting with them and diving with Gary was a spectacular added bonus to the stay.

Stayed: December 2014

Submitted: January 24, 2015

Source: VRBO

Nicholas G.Haleiwa, HI

Nicholas and Michele

Wonderful setting, even better hosts!

Susan and Gary are amazing people. We love going diving every day we can with Gary, he is an amazing guide and took us to the coolest locations everytime we go. We look forward to seeing something new every trip! We have been twice now and couldn't recommend it more, you won't find better hosts willing to help with any small thing. Thank you so much, and we can't way until our next stay!

Stayed: July 2014

Submitted: December 27, 2014

Source: VRBO

Serene location, perfect stat!

Really enjoyed our stay at Sugar Cottage! Garry and Susan were pleasant and very helpful. We would definetly recommend this cottage and when we go back, we will stay here again!

Stayed: December 2014

Submitted: December 15, 2014

Source: VRBO

Kathie G.

Fantastic Dive Holiday

We stayed at Sugar Cottage for a week at the beginning of Nov. The cottage was very comfortable and quiet. Garry was an excellent Dive Master. I did 6 terrific dives with him. The sites we dove were incredible - so clear and lots to see. We enjoyed exploring the southern part of the island. Wish we had stayed longer as there is so much to see & do on the Big Island. A big thanks to Garry & Susan - we so enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: November 2013

Submitted: January 9, 2014

Source: VRBO

Terence T.

Quiet cottage with friendly hosts. Great diving too...

We stayed at the Sugar Cottage for 6 nights recently and we had a blast. Garry and Susan are such amazing hosts. The location is a bit hard to find if you are looking for it at night. But in the day time or with a good GPS, it should not be a problem. The cottage has a well stocked kitchen and we enjoyed cooking lunch/dinner. The nights are cool and quiet. As a dive master, Garry would brong his guests diving at no charge. We rented BC’s and regulators from Espace Plongee/Seaspace diving in Captain Cook which saved us the hassle of hauling all those gears from home. As we are staying at Sugar Cottage, Espace gave us a discount.Garry brought us diving at Two Steps and Miloill Bay. Garry would point to us interesting creatures that he found. The best encounter would be the pair of Hammerhead sharks during our last dive with him. If you would like info on where to go, Garry has lots of ideas and recommendations. Trust him and you will not be disappointed. We are already planning to go back to Big Island and Sugar Cottage will definitely be where we will be staying.

Stayed: August 2013

Submitted: August 26, 2013

Source: VRBO

Great Stay - Amazing Diving

My Husband and I spend 4 nights at the Sugar Cottage on our honeymoon. The cottage itself is nothing extraordinary, but it is very private, well equipped, and comfortable. What makes this place five stars is the diving. Unfortunately we were only able to do three dives with Garry due to our schedule, but they were the best dives that we did in Hawaii. Susan & Garry are wonderful hosts, and Garry is very knowledgeable about diving in the area. He took us to places we would have never gone with a commercial outfit. We certainly hope to return so that we can go on many more dives with Garry.

Stayed: July 2013

Submitted: August 2, 2013

Source: VRBO

Duyen L.

I will be back for more diving adventures with Garry at SuGar Cottage.

I am a 32 year old woman who travelled solo to the Big Island. I booked SuGar cottage last minute as I did not decide to visit Big Island until the day before I arrived. I had a great time diving with Garry! I did not have any diving equipment and did not do a lot of research on places to go. Garry provided me with all the needed equipment free of charge and we completed 4 wonderful dives. I had not gone diving in over 2 years but Garry was very patient and attentive. I have never had such an easy time diving. I could not have been more pampered! Plus, it was incredibly valuable to have such an experienced tour guide. We even dove with dolphins, the first time in my life! What a steal of a deal to have a clean and comfortable place to stay, an incredible tour guide, and lots of friendly suggestions on places to go. The cottage also had several travel books on the Big Island that I made use of. No need to buy bottled water (as I did) since Garry and Susan provided a water cooler in the cottage. No need be concerned that there is no AC as it really did get quite cool at night. I cannot wait to go back. Next time, it will be for a longer stay :) Thank you Garry and Susan.

Stayed: April 2013

Submitted: May 13, 2013

Source: VRBO

Mike & JoannaBenicia Ca.

Third great stay with Susan and Gary

This was the third time we have stayed with Susan and Gary. We keep returning because we always have a good stay with them. The cottage is very comfortable. It has a full kitchen; washer / dryer, screened in lanai were we ate most of our meals in the company of the resident geckos. The bathroom had been updated since or last visit. The cottage really felt more like a home, than a rental this trip. A comfortable place to come to at the end of a day of diving, hiking to the green sands beach, or our day trip to Volcano National park. As of the end of this trip we have done 30 great dives with Gary. In my past reviews I have listed all the marine life and incredible landscapes we have seen diving with Gary. This trip on one dive we had six dolphins all to ourselves. They circled us for about 30 minutes at 60 feet. Often coming with in a few feet of us. There were a lot of divers at two step that morning, some locals, several with guides but Gary was the only one to find the dolphins. On our last night we want into town to see a play. Gary was in the orchestra and Susan was able to tie down a couple tickets for us. It was a nice way to end our trip to the big island.

Stayed: February 2013

Submitted: May 9, 2013

Source: VRBO

NickCaseyville, IL

Great Stay, Awesome Diving!

My wife and I stayed with Garry and Susan for a week and had a blast. When we return to Kona again some day we will definitely book with them again. If you like being near all the action on your vacation than this is probably not the place for you. However, if your looking for something a little less touristy and if you love to dive, particularly shore dive, you'd be hard pressed to find a better option in Kona. Garry took us to some amazing dive sites where we were often the only folks in the water. We felt truly blessed to have Garry as a guide and dive master. Some of the dive sites in Kona can get a bit sketchy in the winter. Garry knows exactly which ones to hit on a given day based on conditions and is extremely knowledgeable and safe underwater navigator. As far as the rental itself goes, its clean, and includes everything you need. We couldn't ask for more. Though, you might want to bring either ear plugs or a pellet gun (you decide) to deal with the rooster that lives nearby. We're early risers and I grew up on a farm but the repeated 2am wake-up calls were a bit too much for even us! LOL My wife made me stick with the ear plugs ;)

Stayed: February 2013

Submitted: April 3, 2013

Source: VRBO

KarichelKotzebue, Alaska

The real deal!

Not only did Garry provide above and beyond in diving, but he shared the best part of the property with us - his dog Sampson! This cottage is the real deal - comfortable accomodations and outstanding diving and guiding! Garry had all gear for us - really good and latest greatest! Any and every need was taken care of - including the charcoal for the bbq!

Stayed: March 2013

Submitted: March 26, 2013

Source: VRBO

Nigel H.Ashford, Kent, UK

Tania and Nigel - UK

The property was comfortable and everything we expected.

Garry was genuinely available for anything we needed and took us diving and snorkeling as much as we wanted. The diving was like a crystal clear tropical fish tank filled with fish and coral formations with a few sharks and turtles thrown in for good measure. I do not think he could have been nicer or more helpful. The cottage was very conveniently located for exploring the Island as far south as the Green and Black sand beaches. I would without any doubt stay here again if I was lucky enough to be able to return to Hawaii.

Stayed: February 2013

Submitted: February 24, 2013

Source: VRBO

Kathy and AnthonyOregon

Sugar Cottage and Scuba!

My wife I stayed 5 days at Sugar Cottage and loved it! Quiet, rustic hideaway with good accommodations such as a comfortable bed, frig, stove and bbq. What my wife and I enjoyed most about this stay was Gary and Susan. Wonderful people. Gary met each morning at 8:00 for diving and took us for 2 tank dives each day we wanted and served as fantastic dive guide. I highly recommend a stay here, not only is a Gary an exceptional dive to dive with, it's like diving with a friend you trust. Not to mention his charming wit and sense of humor. Stay here - you gotta do it!

Stayed: November 2012

Submitted: December 12, 2012

Source: VRBO

Stunning SCUBA experience

We began our 10 day vacation with a 5 day stay at the Sugar cottage and couldn't ask for a better start to our Hawaii experience. Susan and Garry were warm and inviting hosts and made us feel quite welcome at the cottage. The cottage provided an excellent base for day trips up to Kona and down to the Southern tip. A more ambitious schedule would even allow one to visit the volcano and back. However, the true highlight of the stay was going out for shore diving with Garry every day of our stay. My wife and I were relatively novice divers, but diving with Garry was a complete joy. No matter our lack of experience, Garry provide a comfortable and safe diving experience at our pace, and seemed to have just as good a time diving as we did! We saw our first octopus hiding in the reefs, and Garry took us to many of the great shore diving locations along the Kona coast, always on the lookout for interesting sights and encounters on the many reefs. Luckily, there is still plenty more to see when we come back for another trip and stay at the Sugar Cottage.

Stayed: August 2012

Submitted: August 28, 2012

Source: VRBO

Mike & JoannaBenicia Ca.

Had a great stay

We stayed at the sugar cottage for five nights starting the third of November 2011. It was our fifth wedding anniversary. We had a great time. Gary and Susan were great hosts; the sugar cottage was clean and provided us with everything we needed. Gary went out of his way to make sure we got some great diving in. Even took us out on a Sunday missing the beginning of a foot ball game he had been looking forward to. He also provided air tanks for a couple dives we took on our own. The pictures of the cottage were accurate, it was privet, and had the feel of tropical forest. We loved the frogs at night and the distant sound of tuba in the morning. Every dive with Gary was a great time. He is experienced, knowledgeable, and we felt very safe with him. Months later I still have vivid memories of some of the dives. This was our seventh visit to the Big Island, and the time we spent at Sugar Cottage was some of the best. We hope to return soon.

Stayed: November 2011

Submitted: August 11, 2012

Source: VRBO

Tony and TracyCalgary, Alberta, Canada.

Great diving, great place, great owners, unbeatable deal!

My wife and I stayed in the larger cottage 2 years ago and dived with Garry (for free). This year we came back for 2 weeks with our son, Kieran. Big cottage was booked so we stayed in this one, and there was lots of room. All 3 of us are certified divers, so the accommodation is basically free with the diving, and both were fantastic. We dived about 5 different sites, 12 dives in total for free! Garry is a knowledgeable and incredibly patient divemaster who knows the areas and knows diving. I prefer diving with Garry to any outfit I have dived with (and paid lots of money for), and Garry enjoys diving with his guests and it shows (not like many pricey dive shops who want you in and out ASAP). The cottage was plenty big enough for the 3 of us and the screened lanai is great. I would stay in the larger cottage next time simply because I feel its unfair to have Garry take 3 of us diving and pay only $95 per night. If you are a certified diver this is the place to stay. In addition Susan and Gary have guidebooks (including reef fish guide), outside area to wash and hang your gear between dives/snorkels and many extras that all save you money (a cooler, bug spray and sunscreen people have left thats handy until you get chance to buy some). Excellent vacation. Many thanks to Susan and Garry and I'm sure we'll be back for a 3rd visit soon. Tony, Tracy and Kieran (Alberta, Canada).

Stayed: July 2012

Submitted: August 11, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

TJLBurlington, VT

Stay here to enjoy the ocean

The good: Susan and Garry are fantastic. Friendly, flexible, helpful, easy going, close by when you need them, plenty of privacy when you don't. The cottage is larger than we expected, lots of space to spread out for two people, I think 4 could stay comfortably. The diving was great. Garry is an excellent divemaster, and I had a wonderful time diving with him (for free!) My wife, who does not dive, had a great time snorkeling. The bad: We had one issue with cleanliness at the cottage. I waited to tell Garry and Susan about it, because they were so awfully nice and I didn't want to bother them. When I did, they were apologetic. When I asked for a solution, they were willing to work with me. But the cottage wasn't spotless. The verdict: If you want to SCUBA or snorkel the south Kona coast, the value of this cottage can't be beat. If you find a problem, let them know ASAP.

Stayed: July 2012

Submitted: July 31, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers

Owner response: We would like to thank our guest for his kind review. We would also like to respond to THE BAD comment. He was referring to insects, not cleanliness. We take great pride in having our rentals very clean for our guests. Try as we may, we can’t train our geckos to eat all the bugs. We do spray on a regular basis, but the islands do have critters. At his request we refunded the cleaning fee. We also provided at no charge scuba equipment, saving him substantial money.

gretchen a.

Great Introduction to Hawaii

This was our first stop of our vacation and we had a wonderful stay. The cottage is in a quiet neighborhood and in a great location to explore from Kona to South Point. Garry is a wonderful dive master and we felt very comfortable diving with him. We were recently certified and we can't imagine having a better person to show us around a couple of great areas. On top of the great location and diving, Garry and Susan are just wonderful folks, ever helpful and generous. We highly recommend this for anyone wanting to explore the waters along the Kona side.

Stayed: June 2012

Submitted: June 19, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

BassoonWI

A MUST for divers

If you are going to Kona side of the island and a scuba diver you simply must stay with Garry. The location is 40 minute drive to the Kona, where you get restaurants and the manta night dive and the cottage is extremely close to a number of fantastic shore dive for the mornings and days. And best of all, you get Garry as a guide. He knows the area and has every imaginable piece of gear you may have forgotten or broken. The cottage itself is much nicer and BIGGER than the photos look. We were so happy! The screened in porch was our favorite part. The living area is very large and the kitchen completely functional. The bed was comfy and the washer and dryer were very helpful. The cottage is clean. And it is secluded. We heard nothing but the birds and it was really peaceful. Outside the cottage there is wonderful cleaning and storage for dive gear too so we didn't have to share the bathroom with wetsuits! This is a truly lovely little spot and we hope to be back. Garry rocks. We dove with him three days. He was completely accommodating. In addition to having a lovely cottage we had a free dive guide. When I read the ad I though maybe he'd take us out once, but no, he took us out as much as we wanted. He varied sites based on our interests and is an excellent dive master. The sites he took us to were secluded, at two of them we were the only divers there. There was great fish life and coral at the sites too. Upon reading the guide book, he took us to the best shore dives in the area. We are both avid divers and felt completely spoiled by Garry. If you are a diver on the Big Island, go see him for a truly wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2012

Submitted: June 18, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

L C.Belize

Great place for divers. Snorkel or dive with fun dive master.

A Great deal for divers! Garry has done thousands of dives and knows just where to take you. The shore diving of the Kona side is terrific. I was amazed by the numerous and colorful fish, the healthy coral and the many varieties of eels. The cabin was larger and way nicer than expected. We had everything we needed including a very comfortable bed andcomplete cooking instruments. The only drawback was no Wi-Fi in the cottage itself. However Susan and Garry welcome guests to use the wi-fi at their home, which is just 150 feet from the cottage. Considering Sugar Cottage's modest rate that's fine with us! I definitely recommend Sugar Cottage for divers or snorkelers. If I travel to Big Island again, I will try to stay at Sugar Cottage. .

Stayed: April 2012

Submitted: May 8, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

TeresaCupertino

Fantastic cottage and diving; definitely coming back!

We had a superlative experience staying at the SuGar cottage and diving with Gary. Best trip ever. We will definitely come back to visit early and often. If you enjoy exploring the ocean with snorkel, kayak, or scuba, in a tranquil, pristine corner of Hawaii's tropical paradise, this is a fantastic place to be.

Stayed: October 2011

Submitted: November 10, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Was this review helpful? 1Yes 0No

D & GBritish Columbia, Canada

 

So much fun!

We had a wonderful time staying at SuGar Cottage. They are the nicest hosts without being intrusive. It was a great advantage having their recommendations for eating establishments, which Dive Boat companies to hire, directions etc. Garry took us snorkeling and we swam with dolphins, and saw so much amazing coral and fish, a white tail shark and spotted eagle ray. All in 2 hours, honestly I don't think we would see that many different types of sea life walking around the Vancouver Aquarium. We were also able to borrow their tandem kayak and all the gear that goes with it for our own snorkelling adventure. Staying in the cottage is like being in a tropical jungle, you are surrounded by the sounds of frogs and birds, and we were even given a papaya freshly picked from the tree outside our cabin. We were very happy with our decision to stay there.

Stayed: September 2011

Submitted: October 5, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

dutch, Northern Alberta

Great hosts

My husband and i stayed at SuGar cottage 2 years ago and are thrilled that we will be able to do it again in December! Gary and Susan were very approachable and though time did not permit us to do all we wanted, we will remedy that this trip. The laid-back pace of the Big Island is just what the doctor ordered for R&R. See you soon! dutchess

Stayed: February 2009

Submitted: September 29, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Great hosts, great service, great place!

We were three adults with a week to spend on the Big Island and SuGar Cottage was the first of three VRBO properties at which we stayed as we worked our way around the island. It could not have been a better place for us to start! The cottage is very quaint and surrounded by tropical forest that gives it a very secluded feeling. It has a good kitchen where we made all of our meals (There's a Costco in Kona, stop and stock up to save some serious $$), the screened porch was great for eating meals and just relaxing, and of course Gary was the best possible guide / mentor for snorkelling that we could have asked for at any proce... let alone that he gave us his time and loaned us equipment at no additonal cost! Our first snorkelling experiences were amazing, and we are now inspired to get dive-certified just so we can go back and dive with Gary. The cottage was just as represented in the decription and photos in the listing, it was easy to do the transaction because they are set up to process credit cards quickly and easily, they kept me informed via email and were quick to answer the phone and any questions that I had, and just made the whole experince delightful. Our only regret, as many others have said, is that we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed: July 2011

Submitted: July 20, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Ann MarieChester, Virginia

What a deal!!!!!

This is the greatest steal of a deal -especially if you like to dive for FREE! We loved our stay in this charming cottage. Gary is a wonderful and helpful host. He really cares about your safety on the dive. My son loved catching lots of geckos outside the cottage. Gary let us eat one of his papayas off the tree. Hookena beach is nearby for swimming and snorkeling. Two-step is also great for snorkeling. Even where Gary took my husband to dive was a great place to snorkel for my son and I. If you are lucky enough to stay here, it will not dissappoint!! -Lewis Family

Stayed: June 2011

Submitted: July 2, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

anonymous, british columbia

Not the place we expected

This was NOT the five star experience we had expected. We were appalled that a cleaning fee is charged at this accomodation. Yes, on the surface it was pleasant, but we quickly saw the truth. For instance, the blinds were very dusty, the ceiling fans were covered in dust, and if you check the water cooler be sure to look at the area the water is actually coming out of (we saw a lot of mold growth). Also the convertable bed didn't look like it had been cleaned for a while as finger nails were found. The bathroom also has no fan or window and a rusted tub. And it was very loud nights due to the cacophony of creatures at night. If you are up for living with the birds, spiders, cockroaches, and lizards, you should be fine. To be safe, we suggest buying your own bottled water. If it wasn't for the friendly owners we would have given this a one star.

Stayed: March 2011

Submitted: June 29, 2011

Source: VRBO

Owner response: We are sorry that we can't always satisfy all of our guests' needs. It is interesting that these guests were scuba divers and were taken out on many dives at no charge with us supplying air, weights and other diving needs as well as guided tours. This service alone would have been $100.00 for each dive per person and they stayed four days at our cottage. We are located in a rural area on the Big Island with lots of trees and beautiful foliage. Privacy is guaranteed at our 3 acre parcel. We prefer the sounds of nature (birds, frogs etc.) to street noises like automobiles and other city cacophonies. Contrary to our guests opinions, we work very hard to keep our place clean. Why were there no complaints while our guests were here? We always tell our inquires that we are not in the city (Kailua-Kona). Our cottage is very clean and comfortable and is a great place as a nucleus to explore all parts of the island.

Pete and JudyLadysmith, BC, Canada

A wonderful stay at Sugar Cottage.

The cottage was well furnished, clean and easy to find as pictured and described in the listing. All the amenities were supplied and the cottage was very comfortable for my wife and I, and two tall teenage boys. It is a great retreat for those wishing to avoid the tourist traps and noisy city, and who enjoy waking up to the songs of frogs and birds (including chickens). It is a convenient location for those with a car who want to explore the south and west areas of the island including the wonderful swimming areas around Captain Cook. Our hosts, Gary and Susan, were wonderful; welcoming and taking pains to ensure we had a good stay without being intrusive. Gary is an expert diver,and took Judy on some wonderful dives, while the boys and I used his kayaks to explore the coastline. Judy had not dived for a while but felt very relaxed and safe under Gary's guidance. Both Gary and Susan shared their experience and knowledge of the Big Island, with obvious affection for the place, and had us laughing our heads off with their great sense of humour. A great visit folks, and one we would definitely like to repeat in the future.

Stayed: March 2011

Submitted: May 23, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

LeeEdmonotn, Alberta, Canada

Perfect honeymoon spot for Big Island adventurers

This place was perfect for us! Lots of privacy, our hosts just a phone call away, and well located to access the many adventures on the island. Having laundry facilities was wonderful. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cooking gear-- very helpful as one of us can't eat in restaurants due to allergies. We would definitely recommend this cottage and will return the next time we're back on the Big Island. Our host also took us out kayaking and diving and his patience and experience were very much appreciated.

Stayed: February 2011

Submitted: March 1, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Dick & JillLa Canada Flintridge, CA

A great way to start a Big Island adventure

We're not divers, but we love to kayak and snorkel. It was great to have Garry guide us on our first Hawaiian snorkel in 25 years. We had Honamolino Bay all to ourselves and the dolphin were a thrill. It was a nice drive to South Point for the Green Sands hike. SuGar Cottage is very comfortable, and very private. We fell asleep to a chorus of whistling frogs, and awakened to the roosters. There is a full kitchen, and a romantic screened lanai for dining, which is great as there are few restaurants near. We had a great time.

Stayed: September 2010

Submitted: November 15, 2010

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

DonEast Tennessee

Scuba and Relaxation

Our first experience in Hawaii was staying at Garry and Susans SuGar Cottage , Scuba diving with Garry, visiting the southwestern coast and Volcano Park and enjoying the beauty. What a Deal!! Our experience was tremendous and you'll find Garry to be the best host. From the nightlife sounds, quiet countryside and relaxing atmosphere, we couldn't have had a more enjoyable time. Accomodations were very clean and comfortable and gave us a real feel of true Hawaii. We hope to see Garry and Susan again sometime--we'd do it all over again!!!

Stayed: September 2010

Submitted: October 20, 2010

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers

ginilincoln city oregon

great scuba retreat

We spent a wonderful week in May 2010 at the cottage. Garry and Susan were the best! Garry took us on great scuba diving experiences. We were able to dive 8 dives in 5 days. The variety of fish is amazing especially compared to what we are used to seeing in Maui. It was the most relaxing vacation we have been on in a long time. We would, without question, recommend this lovely cottage to anyone! Garry has a great sense of humor. He is fun to be with. We plan to keep coming back forever! ( or until he gets a restraining order against us!) Brandon and Virginia. Lincoln City, Oregon

Stayed: May 2010

Submitted: August 16, 2010

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Dalichka and ZekaToronto, Canada

Great Cottage in a charming forest

We just came back from a weeks stay at the Sugar Cottage. We found everything exactly as it was described and even better as the cottage is quite large for 2 people. We especially enjoyed the screen-in lanai as we had our breakfasts and dinners there. The surroundings are beautiful away from all the noise of a city or a tourist area. The location was very convenient for all our trips as we did go to the Volcano and to Hilo. Garry and Susan were very helpful and we had everything we needed. Garry took us on numerous snorkelling and kayaking trips to places we would not be able to go on our own. This was an excellent experience and a wonderful vacation thanks to Garry. We definetely recommend this cottage.

Stayed: June 2010

Submitted: July 5, 2010

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers

Kate and Jon PaulEdmonton, AB Canada

A great place to stay!

We stayed here in July '09 and absolutely loved it. Garry took us out kayaking and snorkeling and took my husband out diving a number of times. It is a lovely cabin with everything we could have needed. We even were given a papaya right from the tree! Thank you Sue and Garry for taking such good care of us and making us feel so welcome!

Stayed: July 2009

Submitted: April 4, 2010

Source: VRBO

We had a terrific stay at SuGar cottage earlier this month.

The cottage is very comfortable and private; it is equipped with everything you'll need and then some. The highlight though is the delightful couple who are your hosts. Garry and Susan make sure that you have what you need for a pleasant stay. Garry's generosity and expertise in the ocean will make sure that anyone has a great experience wether you're diving, kayaking or snorkeling. We're happy to recommend SuGar cottage!

Stayed: December 2009

Submitted: December 14, 2009

Source: VRBO

Mike & Monica BlakeCentennial, Colorado

Divers Heaven!!

We returned this morning from two weeks spent in the Sugar Cottage. It could not have been more perfect. The cottage was everything we expected and more. It is very well equipped having a coffee grinder, a 12 cup coffee maker, an electric wok, a rice cooker/steamer an outdoor grill.... The cottage has a large water cooler which we made very good use of and was filled as needed by simply asking for more. The bedroom is very comfortable and has a door which allows early birds or insomniacs to watch TV in the living room while allowing those in the bedroom to sleep peacefully. If you are new divers, or avid divers like us, you will be blown away by the beauty of the various dive sites Garry will share with you. With tanks, weights and air provided the value cannot be beat. When you add Garry's dive guiding to the mix it truly is priceless. Garry is a great dive master who matched dives to the diver's abilities. He was equally good with newer divers and more experienced divers. He was enthusiastic about every dive and like any good dive guide was able to find many neat critters to show "his" divers. He also dives by the motto "take only pictures, leave only bubbles." Two weeks was not enough time to see all the dive sites Garry wanted to show us so we are forced to get back to the Sugar Cottage ASAP

Stayed: September 2009

Submitted: September 7, 2009

Source: VRBO

Sean & Cherie-

Although there are only 12 comments here, at the cottage there are two guestbooks absolutely FULL of positive comments from other guests--we stopped counting at around 100. It's not hard to see why people gush about Gary and Susan's wonderful little SuGar cottage. It's a very private and comfortable hideaway and a great home base from which to explore the Big Island. The cottage itself was super-clean, had everything listed, and was very spacious. Gary and Susan were excellent and friendly hosts--Gary took us snorkelling and kayaking for free twice (providing all the gear), and the second time we were surrounded by a pod fifteen or so dolphins for about an hour. Whenever we needed anything--practical things, travel advice, tales of music in Las Vegas--Gary was on it. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2009

Submitted: June 17, 2009

Source: VRBO

Sarah58-

One of the great things about living in Hawaii is that you get to travel island to island.

So close, yet worlds away. Coming to visit the Big Island from living on Maui, I thought I knew what to expect. Well, it was everything I expected and so much more. If you are looking for a true hawaiian getaway, then this is the place for you.Gary and Susan couldn't have been any nicer. There place is beautiful and lacks nothing. The perfect location, nesteled away in it's own little corner of paradise, yet close to anything and everything the Big Island has to offer. Having lived in Hawaii for years, I can't think of a better place for my stay-cation, or your vacation. Many mahalos again Gary and Susan for your warm and friendly hospility. Aloha

Stayed: May 2009

Submitted: May 15, 2009

Source: VRBO

Steve & Kathy RickmanSoldotna , Alaska

We stayed with Gary Oct 08. It was our first time staying at the Sugar cottage and it won't be our last. The cottage was comfortable and homey. Gary and Susan were wonderful and gracious. Gary took me out on dives everyday, don't tell anyone this, but Gary took me out diving even when I stayed at another house. Gary was like an old friend and their dog is cool too.

Stayed: April 2009

Submitted: April 11, 2009

Source: VRBO

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No

Jadwiga & Waldemar

We came back home safely ...

We came back home safely (home...sweet home .. and right away leaking water pipe under kitchen's sink) ,but our thoughts are still on Hawaii with you .Thank you one more time for everything ,for your help ,hospitality ,amazing diving ,delicious fruits from your garden and most of that ,thank you for very "romantic " time spent in your cozy cottage ( small hideaway in paradise ). We will send you some movie and pictures ,but you have to be patient,because after 6 weeks vacations we have to do a lot things first( make money for next vacations - I'm kidding). Mahalo !!!! Sincerely Jadwiga & Waldemar

Stayed: March 2009

Submitted: March 28, 2009

Source: VRBO

Rebecca HansonDenver, CO

I just returned from my 20 night stay at the Sugar Cottage and had an awesome vacation!

The location was perfect for me as I could travel south to Volcano National Park and over to Hilo or north towards Kona and on to the Waimea area. I really had fun SCUBA diving as Garry is very aware of diving safety and knows the dive spots well. He is as comfortable underwater as he is on land!! Since I had not been diving in a long time, he went out of his way to make me feel at ease. As a single woman staying alone at Sugar Cottage I couldn't have felt more secure. It was lovely to go to sleep to the night sounds of the tree frogs and wonderful to have all the items I needed to be self contained. I must say I ate my share of fruit from the trees on the property. Garry and Susan's hospitality made me feel right at home from the begining. I would absolutely stay here again! Rebecca 10/08

Stayed: November 2008

Submitted: November 5, 2008

Source: VRBO

Jan StephensWillits, CA

We had a lovely time at the SuGAr cottage for 9 days in January 2008.

The cottage itself was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed: full kitchen, quiet surroundings, phone, TV, washer, dryer, etc. Plus we enjoyed the surrounding garden with the papaya trees that provided fruit. We were serenaded by geckos that sang to us, chickens that roamed around and soft bass notes in the distance from Garry’s tuba playing. We were greeted the first night by Mianel, Garry and Susan’s friendly and huge Great Dane, who would drop by from time to time and say hello. Garry is a Dive Master and he and his friend – also a dive master, took us diving twice. We are certified but had not gone for a long while and felt that we were in capable hands with a one on one ratio of instructors to us novice divers. Garry also took us kayaking and that was a fun adventure. The cottage is in a quite area and if you like to hike there are a lot of hikes in the area – one is just walking down the road that turns into a trail towards the water. It is about ½ hour to Captain Cook and another ½ hour to Kailua Kona so we stocked up on food and prepared a lot of meals at the cottage to avoid always being in the care. We took a couple of day trips – one to the volcanoes and the other to the Waipeo Valley – a fabulous hike! One of the highlights was swimming with the dolphins at Capt. Cook Bay. This was a great get-a-way and we’d recommend the cottage to the reader.